My First Poultry Show!

_DSC1958
Katherine Ellsworth’s lovely silver birchen girl.

Last week I attended my first serama tabletop show and I gotta say, it was pretty awesome. Northwest Serama club hosted the show at the Benton Co Fairgrounds in Corvallis, alongside the Oregon Spring Invitational which was going on in the same building.

I didn’t bring any birds to show myself as I don’t drive and won’t ever be able to get into showing as a regular activity (most of the shows are at least 3 hours away). However, being unencumbered with birds left me free to watch, learn, and most importantly, take lots of pictures (photography is my other passion).

Upon arrival, I was immediately struck by how many beautiful birds were present. Like, pretty much every bird. Ok, so there’s this thing I call New Bird Smell. It’s when the sight of new and delicious birds overwhelms all other sense and reason and I find myself thinking about how awful all my birds are and how I must acquire new birds, stat! This wears off pretty much as soon as I get home and take a look in my coop. But let’s just say New Bird Smell was strong in this room, and I might’ve bought a pair of birds online in the car on the way home. Who knows, might’ve happened. 😉

But about the show! Things got started with youth. I was really surprised how many young people were there to show, perhaps because I just see so many adults in the groups online. I loved watching them toss their little birds onto the table & the way they cheered them on. It was obvious these kids and teens spend a lot of time working with their birds, and the vibe from their enthusiasm was palpable.

Their birds were judged within the following categories: pullets, cockerels, cocks, hens, and silkied/frizzled. All were scored based on type and personality as follows:

scna scorecard explained

After youth, birds were shown “open,” meaning open to anyone to show, not just youth, in the same categories. There was also a small showing of ayam (extreme, Malay type) seramas. Finally, birds with the highest scores were called back to the table and judged mostly on performance. This is where birds get a chance to strut, flap, and crow their way to the top.

_DSC2767
A silkied girl struts her stuff.

In each category, champion & reserve (second place) birds were chosen. Champions were called back to compete against other champions, and in the end, one bird was chosen champion and another reserve of the entire show.

_DSC2910
Reserve, shown by the most adorable little girl. Seriously, everyone was smitten with her. And she had some great birds to boot!
_DSC2912
Kendra Cox’s little silkied boy also stole hearts & won champion of the show.

The show lasted about 5 hours total with a couple breaks for lunch and such. Let’s see, other interesting things to note. Oh, there are a lot of little things for sale at the show. Our club had a table with merch (branded mugs and shirts, signs, etc), decorative objects, and practical items such as cage cups for birds’ food. I totally scored some of those cage cups and am LOVING them. There were also a fair amount of birds for sale from participants at both shows.

IMG_9282.jpg
Judge Anna Ballard had this adorable little silver sebright pair for sale. I’m still not sure why I didn’t come home with these!

The scene below is pretty small by poultry show standards, from what I’ve seen of the big national shows. Still, it felt a bit like I was walking through the documentary Chicken People as I strolled the aisles during breaks. It was delightful. 🙂

IMG_9314
Northwest Seramas on the left, Oregon Spring Invitational on the right. The empty cages in between were the winner’s row for the latter show, & filled up as the day progressed.

Ok, that about wraps it up! A few more shots below. Enjoy!

_DSC1890
Judge Anna Ballard inspects a youth pullet at the start of the day.
IMG_9351
Just one of the many handsome fellows present. 😉

_DSC2456IMG_9289_DSC2024

Leave a Reply

